Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

BzzAgent UNREAL- Candy Unjunked September 22, 2012

Filed under: Food — slagoon @ 7:30 am
Tags: , , ,

Today I bring you food…who doesn’t love food? Even better, sweets, candy, junk food…whatever name you call it by, it is a tasty treat. UNREAL (slogan: Candy Unjunked) is relatively new to the market and Bzzagent gave me the opportunity to try some of their candy – provided I could find it. After looking at a couple of the suggested stores I found these suckers at Walgreens in an end-cap. I grabbed one of each of the 5 varieties and went to check out.  Apparently they are so new that the clerk didn’t even know the store had the candy.

A brief summary of the back-story of UNREAL is that a 13 year old kid tried to explain to his dad why candy wasn’t bad for him, but in researching on the internet he found it was bad for him. He decided he wanted candy that had less junk (in their words, hydrogenated oils, corn syrup, artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives). He eventually found people to help with the goal and UNREAL was born.

They claim that the less junk the better the taste of the candy, so I decided to put it to the test and tried each of their 5 varieties side by side with the name brand equivalent.

Here are my opinions:

8-Chocolate, peanut, caramel, nougat: Not as good as the name brand

5-Chocolate, carmel, nougat: Not as good as the name brand

41-Candy covered chocolate: Equally as good as the name brand

54-Candy covered, chocolate, peanut: Equally as good as the name brand

77-Chocolate and peanut butter: Better than name brand

I appreciate that the candy was much better for you (as far as candy goes) but I really hoped that it would all taste better than the name brand. I eat candy so infrequently that the healthiness doesn’t matter too much for me. I definitely will get the chocolate peanut butter again and maybe the candy and chocolate covered peanuts.

On 41 and 54 the colors are derived from things in nature so they are not as vivid as the name brand version, but that doesn’t affect the taste at all, and the colors are actually pretty – they remind me of fall.

Would I buy these again? 54 and 77 I would, assuming the price isn’t out-of-line – the others probably not.

Will I finish the sample? I did on 41, 54, and 77, but 8 and 5 I did not.

FTC Disclosure: This review contains a sample product sent for consideration by PR (bzzagent.com). My priority is to you, and I honor that commitment by being honest! I do not conduct paid reviews or guarantee reviews. I promise to remain truthful with you. If you are uncertain what this all means, I suggest you to read my Disclosure Policy for further clarification.

 

2 Responses to “BzzAgent UNREAL- Candy Unjunked”

  1. […] BzzAgent UNREAL- Candy Unjunked (thebeautifullagoon.com) […]

  2. […] BzzAgent UNREAL- Candy Unjunked […]


Comments are closed.