Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

June MyGlam August 16, 2012

Filed under: Haircare,Makup,Review,Review,Review,Skincare — slagoon @ 8:16 pm
Tags: , , , ,

MyGlam has been pretty fun lately with a good mixture of types of products.  They have also been mixing their bags up a bit. This month was a party-ready gold glitter bag. I was really nervous about all the glitter but none of it came off. I can totally see myself using it for a party where I fear that my stuff might get spilled on.

So what came inside this shiny shiny bag of goodness?

.

Philosophy Take a deep breath moisturizer 
  This light green gel has a clean fresh scent that disappears only moments after being applied.  It feels refreshing and soothing.

I used this for a few days and while it always felt great going on, my skin felt dryer and dryer each day within hours of application.  While I wanted to like it, it just didn’t give me enough moisture.

Would I buy it again? No, I need more moisture

Will I finish the sample? I did, I kept hoping it would get better.

Sample Size: 0.4 oz
Full Size: 2.0 oz
Full Size Price: $34.00
Sample Value: $6.08
Awesomeness Level<- 2

.

NYX Round Lipstick – 629 POWER
I always like getting a lippie or a shadow, so I was excited to see a lipstick included this month.  When I opened my bag I was disappointed to see the lipstick was pepto bismal pink.  I figured I’d still try it so I could review it.

The color is indeed abhorrent. The formula is OK. Keep in mind it is a four dollar lipstick.  It is by no means great – but it lasts for a little while and gives full true to tube color.  It is not moisturizing at all.  Again, though, it is only $4.00

Would I buy this again? No. It just doesn’t do it for me.

Will I finish the sample? No, I don’t like the color and I don’t especially like the formula.

Sample Size: 0.14 oz
Full Size: 0.14 oz
Full Size Price: $3.99
Sample Value: $3.99
Awesomeness Level<- 2

.

Living Proof frizz Nourishing Styling Cream
I have heard such great things about Living Proof products so I was psyched to get to try this anti-frizz cream.  This is different than a lot of the anti-frizz solutions I have tried in that you put it on before you see the frizz, while your hair is still damp.  I have tried it a few times and it does give better results than some of the other treatments I’ve used.

I like this plenty well and may possibly get it again sometime in the future.  I will still keep looking for something that can tame my fly-aways even better.

Would I buy this product again? Maybe, depends on if I find something better before I’m ready to buy.

Will I finish the sample? Yes

Sample Size: 2.0 oz
Full Size: 4.0 oz
Full Size Price: $26.00
Sample Value: $13.00
Awesomeness Level<- 3

.

Marbella Permanent Eyeliner Pen
Eyeliner is nearly a MUST in my daily makeup routine, and I just hate when it smudges. Seeing “Permanent” made my heart flutter with delight.  Unfortunately then I opened it and tried it. As you can see from my scribbles it is pretty much grey instead of black.  What is more, a couple minutes later I ran my hand over it and it smudged completely. I washed it later and it came off with water only and no scrubbing.

Needless to say, I am far less than impressed.

Save your money and skip this product.

Would I buy this again?No way.

Will I finish the sample? Nope, it is already at the dump.

Sample Size: 0.054 oz
Full Size: 0.054 oz
Full Size Price: $19.00 10.00
Sample Value: $19.00 10.00
Awesomeness Level<- 1

asdf
Total bag value-$33.07. The bag was a pretty nice value unfortunately the stuff inside just didn’t represent that.  Awesomeness Level: 2+2+3+1=8    8/4= 2 I did not like most of the stuff that was contained in this bag, but I was at least glad I got to try the Living Proof frizz Nourishing Styling Cream.

FTC  Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by MyGlam or any of the brands included in the bag. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.