Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

June Beauty Army August 6, 2012

Filed under: Review,Skincare — slagoon @ 9:50 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Happy August everyone. I’m still moving stuff out of boxes and into my house – and now the Olympics are on – so I’ve got to catch that – ya know?

I actually chose my own samples this time, and was excited to try the “surprise me” option for one of the 6 samples.  What I didn’t know was that it could duplicate a product you had already received.
Obviously from that statement I received a product I’d gotten before…

Which one was it?

Karuna Anti-Blemish Treatment Mask  This is the one that I’ve received before. Click the link on the name for the review

Do I still like it? Yep! I don’t know if I’d buy it again though – it is still quite pricy for a 20 minute indulgence.
Sample Size: 1 Mask
Full Size: 4 Masks
Full Size Price:  $28.00
Sample Value: $7.00
 
AL<- 3-0.5=2.5 (one time use sample) This was a fun treat and I feel like it really actually benefited my skin

.

Apothederm Stretch Mark Cream 
  In a previous sample box I had received the Strivectin stretch mark cream so I was anxious to see how this compared.  I used it on my opposite leg for a couple weeks, but unfortunately I didn’t see as many improvement as the Strivectin showed…I don’t know if it is because I didn’t use it for enough time – maybe after awhile it really cranks up the mark removal or maybe it just doesn’t work as well. I don’t know which is the case because my sample is now empty. 

I think if I were to splurge on a stretch mark removal cream I’d go with the Strivectin because it did work while I still had some of my sample remaining.

Would I buy it again? I don’t think so. However, if I find out it really takes longer but works better I may give it a second chance.

Will I finish the sample? I did, it was the only way to really see if it worked at all.

 
Sample Size: 0.7 oz
Full Size: 5.7 oz
Full Size Price: $89.95
Sample Value: $11.04
 
Awesomeness Level<- 3

.

Clicker Skincare Acne Spot Treatment
I had heard people RAVING about this product so I was pretty happy when it showed up on my selection screen. 

My skin has been a lot more healthy over the last two years since I began using higher quality products, but I still get the occasional breakout and when I do the pimples are stubborn. This milky serum can be applied with the built in click brush. The pimples I have treated go away much faster than with other topical spot treatments I’ve tried – it isn’t a miracle, but it does speed up the healing process.

Would I buy this again? Very likely, I have been using it every time I see a pimple.

Will I finish the sample? Definitely.

Sample Size: 0.11 oz
Full Size: 0.11 oz
Full Size Price: $20.00
Sample Value: $20.00
 
Awesomeness Level<- 4

.

Korres Guava Shower Gel
Shower gels are tough to evaluate, especially when they are one time use like this ended up being.  What I can say about this blue tinted clear gel is that it smelled amazing.  It didn’t create a big lather, but it did create some suds. I felt clean after using it, but no more or less than I normally do.

Would I buy this product again? Probably not, it is nice but I’m good with what I currently use.

Will I finish the sample? It only contained enough to use one time.

Sample Size: 0.30 oz
Full Size: 13.53 oz
Full Size Price: $19.50
Sample Value: $0.43
 
Awesomeness Level<- 3-0.5(one time use)=2.5

.

Kellett Skincare Clarifying Acne Treatment
Two acne treatments in one kit!  I used this on pimples on a different part of my face than the Clicker (see above) during my initial trial of this product. Compared to it, the results were not as obvious. It did, however, work better than the spot treatments I had been using.

Would I buy this again? I don’t think so. It worked but I’d buy the Clicker again first.

Will I finish the sample? Yes, it does work.

Sample Size: 0.1 oz
Full Size: 1.7 oz
Full Size Price: $75.00
Sample Value: $4.41
 
Awesomeness Level<- 3

asdf

Egyptian Magic Balm
I have heard so many great things about this product. The first thing that struck me is that it is a thick jellyish product…it reminded me of Vaseline, though this is not petroleum based.  It is supposidly an amazing multi-tasker that can be used as a facial moisturizer, eye cream, cuticle treatment, fly-away-hair tamer and probably more. 

I tried it as a facial moisturizer. To apply it this way you are supposed to put a little in your hands and rub them vigerously together to warm it up and make it easy to spread. I did this.  The product claims to be non-greasy…and while I’m sure it isn’t greasy, it felt really weird – again like Vaseline.  I think it worked ok, I didn’t have additional breakouts from it or anything and my skin remained soft and healthy looking.  I did not like the way it felt when I put it on though, so this won’t be in my purchasing future.

Would I buy this again? no, I just didn’t like it – doesn’t mean it doesn’t work – just a personal preference.

Will I finish the sample? No, I’ll skip it.

 
Sample Size: 0.1 oz
Full Size: 4.0 oz
Full Size Price: $37.20
Sample Value: $0.93
 
Awesomeness Level<- 3 (because it worked, even though I didn’t love it)

Awesomeness Level: 2.5+3+4+2.5+3+3=18    18/6= 3 – This kit was not too bad at all.  While I didn’t walk away with any products I just have to run out and get I did get to try some products I’d heard lots of stuff about.

Total box value-$43.81. The kit value was there, however I question the Korres sample…it really could have been delux sized – this was pretty darn small..

FTC  Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Beauty Army or any of the brands included in the kit. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.

 

2 Responses to “June Beauty Army”

  1. Connor Says:

    I have never heard of anything like this, and I have to say, it’s ptrety neat. Sampling products is always the best way to test whether it works for you, so I’m a huge advocate of samples and sample sizes. Have you received your boxes yet? I’m just wondering how wide their product reach is.

    • slagoon Says:

      So far the Beauty Army sample box has been pretty neat, I’ve gotten 8 so far. I think if I could only have one sample box, though, it would be glossy box.


Comments are closed.