Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

June – The Look Bag July 22, 2012

Filed under: Makup,Review,Review,Skincare — slagoon @ 2:49 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Today I bring you what is probably the last Look Bag review that I will write.  On July 18th I received the following note:

As many of you know, we have been experiencing some troubles in the recent months with our beauty sample program The Look Bag. We have thought very long and hard about this decision and it very much saddens us to say that we have decided to discontinue The Look Bag while we refocus on The Look Store.com to bring you the very best in celebrity beauty picks.

Those that have purchased gift subscriptions for 3, 6 and 12 months, or yearly subscriptions will be refunded for remaining months. Those who have not yet been charged for July, will not be receiving a July bag. 

My guess is that I will NOT be getting a July bag as we are 9 days from August. Bummer! That’s okay – I really did feel like we were being sent mostly older items that were no longer in style.

They sent the June bag out at the end of June instead of the beginning explaining that they were trying to package their products more carefully after complaints of subscribers.

So what was included in this “well packaged” but still “last” bag?

 

.

Atopalm Intensive Moisturizing Cream
Atopalm is one of those brands I’ve never heard of… and I now understand why. This project is just not very outstanding.  There is NOTHING wrong with it – there is just nothing that sets it apart from other facial creams.

This medium-thin white cream spreads easily over my skin and it doesn’t take much to get full facial coverage. My skin felt a little moisturized but not for a product claiming to be for dry skin.

Would I buy this again? I don’t think so – it doesn’t really do anything special.

Will I finish the sample? Yes, it was definitely good enough to finish

Sample Size: 0.25 oz
Full Size: 3.4 oz
Full Size Price: $30.00
Sample Value: $2.21
 
Awesomeness Level<- 2 I used the whole sample and while I wouldn’t buy it, if I got another sample I would use it again.

.

Snowberry Cellular Regeneration Night Cream
This medium-thick pale yellow cream is supposed to be used on your face and neck and help keep your skin young looking.  I found that this did not want to spread thinly so I used much more than I do with similarly priced competitors. This was not greasy and I did not see any negative side effects from this cream.  I used it nightly for about a week before I ran out. I saw no improvement in my skin tone or texture – but my skin is pretty healthy so there’s not a ton of room for improvement.

Would I buy it again? Probably not. It was nice but there are many other products I like more and at that price point I need to LOVE it.

Will I finish the sample? I did – it didn’t last very long

 

Sample Size: 0.14 oz
Full Size: 1.7 oz
Full Size Price: $104.00
Sample Value: $8.56
 
Awesomeness Level<- 3 it was ok, but not amazing. I did finish the whole sample though.

.

Korres Eyeshadow

This, like the L’Oreal from May, appears to be an outdated product. I received this in the color 44s, Golden Green. On my skin, this ends up kind of chalky.  I tried it on my eyes over Urban Decay’s primer potion – while it came off less chalky the color is horrible on me. REALLY – I look like I should go to the hospital – my husband asked if I was feeling ok. It also didn’t last very long without creasing. 

Would I buy this again? No, for one, it is no longer available, for two it wasn’t that great

Will I finish the sample? No, believe it or not but I will be throwing away an eye shadow!

 

Sample Size: 0.6 oz
Full Size: 0.6 oz
Full Size Price: $16.00 (when it wasn’t discontinued)
Sample Value: $16.00
 
Awesomeness Level<- 1, chalky, creases and outdated product…not too good there…

.

Prescriptives Lip and Eye Pencil Sharpener
Um, thanks? A pencil sharpener?  Don’t these come with nearly all high end cosmetic pencils? Oh well. I guess it doesn’t hurt to have a spare. It has this guide thing so that if you have a thinner pencil you still can get it perfectly centered in the sharpener so you don’t make it off balance.

Looking at what it retails for I guess this is a pretty generous inclusion.

It works – as well as all my other sharpeners, no better.

Would I buy this product again? No, I get them for free with my high-end purchases.

Will I finish the sample? I’ll use this tool until it dulls – no point in throwing it out.

Since I had to search high and low to find a non-ebay or amazon seller purchase I’m including the link to it for sale from Sears http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_SPM5976601001P?prdNo=5

 
Sample Size: 1 piece
Full Size: 1 piece
Full Size Price: $12.49
Sample Value: $12.49
 
Awesomeness Level<- 2…I just don’t see how this is a good inclusion in out bag without also including an eyeliner or lip pencil.

.

Personal Product: Korres Wild Rose 24 hour Moisturizing and Brightening Cream
This thick white cream smells faintly of roses and feels very moisturizing.  To me, the scent is too strong for my face. It is not nearly as strong as some of the other creams I’ve tried in the past, but it was still a scent I don’t enjoy having that close to my nose…though at least the scent disappates fairly quickly.

Would I buy this again? No, it is ok, but not amazing. I’d rather use the Sephora moisturizer.

Will I finish the sample? I think so, but I’ll probably use it more for my body than face.

 

Sample Size: 0.68 oz
Full Size: 1.4 oz
Full Size Price: $35.00
Sample Value: $17.00
 
Awesomeness Level<- 2 – This was ok – but not amazing. There are some “yet to be reviewed” creams that I like much more

Awesomeness Level: 2+3+1+2+2=10    10/5=2  This wasn’t a “hit box” it was more of a “miss”. The personalized product – I have no idea how they came up with that as something specific to my profile…but that’s ok.  This bag really punctuated the letter I received a couple weeks after the bag – that they need to get out of the business of sample boxes. Oh well – I had some really nice stuff from them in the past.

Total box value: $56.26 it is a valuable bag, but not if you don’t like using the creams. some

.

FTC  Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by The Look Bag or any of the brands included in the bag. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.