Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

June Total Beauty Collection July 14, 2012

Today I bring you my first of the June boxes in the format I mentioned a few days ago – I still can’t believe I got an entire month behind! Anyway, this is the second of the Total Beauty Collections.Total Beauty Collection is different than the other sample subscriptions in that it is not really a subscription. You get notified that a new “Collection” is out the email tells you what brands are included. You then can click on the link and see more specific information on the products included. Then you can purchase it. If you don’t like it you don’t have to buy it. You will not be automatically billed for it. The down side is it can sell out and you don’t have any way of ensuring you get it.

So what was included in the second Collection?

.

Pixi: Eye Bright Primer
I was really hopeful for this primer to be amazing. It felt nice and thick and the tint covered all the little veins that are on my eyelids. These things made me believe I was in for a treat.Nope. I got creases galore. I figured it might be the way that it interacted with the particular eyeshadow I used, so I tried it again the next day with a different brand. Same result, lots of creases.

A primer’s job is to prevent creases therefore I don’t think this one is that great.

Would I buy this again? No, it just didn’t keep my lids crease free like a primer should.

Will I finish the sample? No, it isn’t worth keeping just to look like you didn’t put on primer.

Sample Size: 0.06 oz
Full Size: 0.08 oz
Full Size Price: $18.00
Sample Value: $13.50
 
Awesomeness Level<- 1 This just didn’t work.

.

Likewise: Moisturizer with SPF 50 (normal to oily)
I get so wary about moisturizers with SPF. So often they just smell like sunscreen – bad. This one was slightly better but is not super moisturizing, that may be because it is for normal to oily rather than dry to normal (which is also available). The cream is thinner than most moisturizers and feels more like a sunscreen or a serum.I suppose this would be good for folks in the summer who want something just
light and that is more a “sunscreen with moisturizer” rather than a “moisturizer
with sunscreen”

Would I buy it again? No, it is just not for me

Will I finish the sample? No, I’ve got plenty of other SPF moisturizers to
try.

Sample Size: 0.15 oz
Full Size: 1.69 oz
Full Size Price: $44.00
Sample Value: $3.90
 
Awesomeness Level<- 2

.

emerginC: Phytocell Detox Mask
This clay mask is intended to brighten and smooth skin. It has a citrusy odor and feels like cool mud. As you smooth it over your face it cools and makes it feel really good.After leaving it on for 15 minutes it doesn’t necessarily harden as much as it gets less moist. Then, like most non peel off masks you wash it all the way off.

My skin felt really nice and smooth after using it almost like I had just finished a microdermabrasion.

Overall this is one of my favorite masks I’ve tried. I would probably use more than was provided in the sample when using it on my own so I’d probably only get about 12 uses out of the full size container. For a special pamper myself time it would be worth it.

Would I buy this again? Maybe. I liked it and I liked how my skin felt after using it.

Will I finish the sample? Yes, since it was a one time use sample my only option was to finish it.

Sample Size: 0.1 oz
Full Size: 1.69
Full Size Price: $50.00
Sample Value: $2.96
 
Awesomeness Level<- 3-0.5=2.5 (single use sample)

.

Senna: Lip Gloss in Awake
This apricot colored gloss has champagne colored sparkles in it and it just gives a light peachy color to the lips. I like it but it is a little more sticky than some other glosses. It has a vanilla scent/flavor which is fine, but I prefer other scents to vanilla.Unfortunately it doesn’t last incredibly long which is perhaps my biggest complaint. All in all it is nice, but I don’t think it really holds up to the price point.

That’s another thing. Search as I might I could not find this on the Senna web site. I think it might be part of the duo glosses, but those don’t give the names of the colors, just the actual hues, like red and peach so I’m not sure if I have picked the exact right product to gauge the price from – but they were all in the same ball-park.

Would I buy this again? Maybe, but likely no, not that there is anything wrong with it, just there are so many out there that I like more.

Will I finish the sample? Yes, I’ll certainly keep it around. The gloss worked nicely and I like the color.

Sample Size: 0.09 oz
Full Size: 0.14 oz
Full Size Price: $20.00
Sample Value: $12.86
 
Awesomeness Level<- 3 I like but don’t love it. If I found another
Senna gloss in a color I wanted I wouldn’t hesitate to get it.

.

Alterna: Bamboo Kendi Pure Treatment Oil
This oil is supposed to help strengthen and smooth hair by nourishing it with bamboo and Kendi. I haven’t tried it as a treatment, and I’m not quite sure how to use it as a treatment (if you know please let me know in the comments because I’d love to try it) so I am reviewing it as a smoothing treatment.I can use about a dime size and then follow up with some sort of heat styling (flat iron, curling iron, heated curlers…) an get beautiful glossy yet not oily hair. If I use it without applying heat it does nothing to help get rid of fly-aways. If I use more than a dime size amount then my hair looks greasy- It is a finicky product on my hair, but for what I’ve found works, it works well.

Would I buy this again? Probably not, there are some other products from the bamboo line I would purchase first, like the Luminous Shine Mist

Will I finish the sample? Yes, it is worth keeping around

Sample Size: 0.3 oz
Full Size: 1.7
Full Size Price: $24.00
Sample Value: $4.23
 
Awesomeness Level<- 2 It is okay but other products from the bamboo line work better.

Awesomeness Level: 1+2+2.5+3+2=2.1. Not the most amazing collection
I’ve received but a couple products that I may have purchased and been
unhappy with and the mask is one I may end up buying. All in all,
worth it!

Collection value: $37.45 (This was again for a $15.00 cost to me)some

.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Total Beauty Collection or any of the brands included in the collection. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.