Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

May Inaugural Glossy Box – Wrap Up July 5, 2012

Filed under: Haircare,Makup,Skincare — slagoon @ 3:09 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve had a chance to use and review all of the products from my May Box and decide on how much I liked them. So now it is time to do my box wrap up.  In case you don’t remember, here is a summary of the Awesomeness level:

Box Awesomeness Level Review (AL)

  • 5 points for an item that surpasses everything else I’ve tried and becomes my #1 choice for what role it fulfills
  • 4 points for an item that becomes added to my permanent collection of cosmetics and I will repurchase
  • 3 points for an item that joins my “I might buy this again” list
  • 2 points for an item I finished or will finish the entire sample of but in the end decided not to re-purchase
  • 1 point for an item that I tried and immediately threw out/gave away
  • 0 points if the item was a duplicate of something from a previous bag/box/kit that only scored a 1 in that box – meaning I knew enough to not even bother with trying it.
  • Don’t forget that I subtract 1/2 point for samples that can only be used 2 or fewer times.

Click “more” to see how this kit rated…

Basq – Cucumber Tea Eye Gel
Sample Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size Price: $24.00
Sample Value: $24.00

AL<- 3 I really did enjoy this and it feels nice and calming.

.

.
.

Opi – Kiss Me On My Tulips
Sample Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size Price: $8.50
Sample Value: $8.50

AL<-4  I hate pink, but this one was so flattering that it is now my go-to pink, not to mention it is OPI which I love.

.

.
.
.

C.O. Bigelow – Lavender and Peppermint Shampoo
Sample Size: 5.2 oz
Full Size: 5.2 oz
Full Size Price: $12.00
Sample Value: $12.00 

 AL<-2 It was nice enough, but I doubt I’ll ever buy it on my own.

.

.
.
.

Cargo – Eye Bronzer
Sample Size: 0.035 oz
Full Size: 0.035 oz
Full Size Price: $22.00
Sample Value: $22.00

 AL<-2 I liked the color but hated the formula. This just wasn’t worth the price point.

.

.
.
.

Erno Laszlo – Hollywood Collection
Sample Size: 5x 0.03 oz 

Full Size: 5x 0.5 oz 2.5
Full Size Price: $125.00
Sample Value: $7.50 (estimated since there is no size listed on the samples – I estimated based on how full the sample was compared to other foil packs I have received and know the amount of.

AL<- 2 I liked the velvet night cream but the rest just were not amazing – and it is quite expensive.

.

.
.
.

Kryolan – High Gloss Brilliant Lip Shine – Toffee (18.10/ 0.135oz)
Sample Size: 0.135 oz
Full Size: 0.135 oz
Full Size Price: $18.10
Sample Value: $18.10

AL<-2 I wanted to like this, I tried to wear it, it just looked horrible on me.

Awesomeness Level: 3+4+2+2+2+2=15 15/6= 2.5  Not a horrible rating. I liked most of the products enough to keep using them, and the value was pretty amazing too. I subscribed to Glossy Box the moment subscriptions became available!

Total Box Value $200.10 – again because the Erno Laszlo samples did not have a size indicated I had to guess (well I could have measured, but I am far too lazy to do that.)

FTC  Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Glossy Box or any of the brands included in the Box. Items were won as part of an anonymous contest.  Regardless of cost of the items I promise to always give you my open and honest opinion. For more information please review my disclosure policy.