Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

May BirchBox – Initial Impressions May 17, 2012

Filed under: Makup,Skincare — slagoon @ 3:45 pm
Tags: ,
Here we go again, another installment of the BirchBox. This time it was Gossip Girl themed.  I’ve never seen Gossip Girl. I hear it is cute and fun – but still, I really only watch things on netflix – and then usually only after a couple seasons are available since I don’t like waiting to find out what happens next. Anyway – I have heard of Gossip Girl and understand that the characters are pretty on trend and are neat so I was excited to hear about this matchup.
 
Speaking of Netflix, do you remember when you used to get disks in the mail and then return them? Do you also remember that for awhile the more often you returned the disks the slower the service was to send you a replacement? It was called Throttling and it was done to help the companies stay more profitable.  Today I feel like BirchBox may be involved in their own version of this practice. My first few boxes were impressive with rather high values.  The longer I have been a subscriber, though, the less valuable my boxes have become.  Meanwhile it seems that new subscribers sharing their first, second, and third boxes are getting very nicely appointed boxes – which I experienced in March when I ordered a second box to get a Teen Vogue box. March my old subscription box was valued at $16.60, April, $9.26, May $27.10.  Now it is totally plausable that I am just being the victim of luck, but it feels icky nonetheless.
 
Regardless of value, I am still enjoying the products.  
 
Check out below to see what was in the box this month!  .
 
 
  
Bvlgari – Omnia Crystalline – Previously Reviewed
Sample Size 0.05 oz
Full Size  1.33 oz
Full Size Price $64.00
Sample Value $2.40
 
fresh – Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment SPF 15
Sample Size  0.08 oz
Full Size  0.15 oz
Full Size Price $22.00
Sample Value $11.73
 
Kiehls – Abyssine Cream +
Sample Size 0.25 oz
Full Size 1.69 oz
Full Size Price $48.00
Sample Value $7.10
 
Miracle Skin Transformer Body SPF 20 in Glow
Sample Size  0.5 oz
Full Size  3.38 oz
Full Size Price $34.00
Sample Value $5.02
 
XOXO Notecard
Sample Size 1 card
Full Size  12 cards
Full Size Price $10.00
Sample Value $0.83
.
 
Box value – $27.10.
 
FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Birchbox or any of the brands included in the box. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.