Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

May Inaugural Glossy Box – First Impressions May 8, 2012

Filed under: Haircare,Makup,Skincare — slagoon @ 6:15 am
Tags: ,

Today I bring you the May Glossy Box.  This inaugural box was not actually for sale, but instead was sent to some select bloggers (not me) and some contest winners (me).  I entered to win a free Glossy Box – and I won!!!! That’s the first thing I’ve won over the internet and it made me giddy. I know that it was primarily to drive hype over the upcoming subscriptions, but I’m happy anyway.  Even though I received this free, as a prize, you will still get my honest, sometimes blunt opinion. Ok so what is in the box?

Click “more” to see the box and learn about what is in it. This one is photo heavy!


The Box Opening!

     

Then the insert material (which is actually cool and interesting to read – remember clicking on the pictures makes them BIG)

   

Is the suspense killing you yet?

           

.

.

.

And then the fun bit of seeing the actual products!!!!!!!

.

 

.

 

Basq – Cucumber Tea Eye Gel
Sample Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size Price: $24.00
Sample Value: $24.00

 

Opi – Kiss Me On My Tulips
Sample Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size: 0.5 oz
Full Size Price: $8.50
Sample Value: $8.50

C.O. Bigelow – Lavender and Peppermint Shampoo
Sample Size: 5.2 oz
Full Size: 5.2 oz
Full Size Price: $12.00
Sample Value: $12.00 

 

Cargo – Eye Bronzer
Sample Size: 0.035 oz
Full Size: 0.035 oz
Full Size Price: $22.00
Sample Value: $22.00

 

Erno Laszlo – Hollywood Collection
Sample Size: 5x 0.03 oz 

Full Size: 5x 0.5 oz 2.5
Full Size Price: $125.00
Sample Value: $7.50 (estimated since there is no size listed on the samples – I estimated based on how full the sample was compared to other foil packs I have received and know the amount of.

  

Kryolan – High Gloss Brilliant Lip Shine – Toffee (18.10/ 0.135oz)
Sample Size: 0.135 oz
Full Size: 0.135 oz
Full Size Price: $18.10
Sample Value: $18.10

Total Box Value $200.10 – again because the Erno Laszlo samples did not have a size indicated I had to guess (well I could have measured, but I am far too lazy to do that.)

From what I have found online from the bloggers who received the box for publicity the subscription will be $21.00 each month with at least 1 full size product and 4 deluxe samples.

My shampoo did leak a little, luckily just onto the OPI box, nothing was ruined or damaged, but it was a sticky box – I think the saving grace was the crinkle paper that kept everything nestled safely. I thought this first box was pretty fantastic. I really like how the whole thing was put together and how I have heard of some of the brands while others are new to me.  I will start reviewing these products and let you know how I like them.

FTC  Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Glossy Box or any of the brands included in the Box. Items were won as part of an anonymous contest.  Regardless of cost of the items I promise to always give you my open and honest opinion. For more information please review my disclosure policy.