Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

April Beauty Army Kit – Wrap Up May 8, 2012

Filed under: Makup,Skincare — slagoon @ 11:07 am
Tags: ,

I’ve had a chance to use and review all of the products from my April kit and decide on how much I liked them. So now it is time to do my box wrap up.

In case you don’t remember, here is a summary of the Awesomeness level:

Box Awesomeness Level Review (AL)

  • 5 points for an item that surpasses everything else I’ve tried and becomes my #1 choice for what role it fulfills
  • 4 points for an item that becomes added to my permanent collection of cosmetics and I will repurchase
  • 3 points for an item that joins my “I might buy this again” list
  • 2 points for an item I finished or will finish the entire sample of but in the end decided not to re-purchase
  • 1 point for an item that I tried and immediately threw out/gave away
  • 0 points if the item was a duplicate of something from a previous bag/box/kit that only scored a 1 in that box – meaning I knew enough to not even bother with trying it.
  • Don’t forget that I subtract 1/2 point for samples that can only be used 2 or fewer times.

Click “more” to see how this kit rated… (more…)

 

Purely Cosmetics – Mineral Foundation – Neutral Light

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 9:55 am
Tags: , , ,

Today I bring you Purely Cosmetics Mineral Foundation in neutral-light. This finely milled powder is lightweight and strongly pigmented. It spreads evenly and is picked up quite easily with my brushes. The brand says that it is best for normal to oily skin (which is about 85% of my face).

The powder keeps my skin shine free. It lasted most of the day. Overall it seems to be a pretty nice formula. It doesn’t work for me though, it is too dark. My skin is so pale that it was too dark, but not dark enough to use as a bronzer. I wore it for one day at home so I could review it. I’ll keep it around in case I get a bit of a tan this summer.

Will I buy this again? No, this was the lightest color, and it was not light enough for me.

Will I finish the sample? I’ll keep it around in case I get a tan.

Sample Size: 0.1 oz
Full Size: 0.21 oz
Full Size Price: $18.00
Sample Value: $8.57

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Beauty Army or any of the brands included in the kit. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.

 

May Inaugural Glossy Box – First Impressions

Filed under: Haircare,Makup,Skincare — slagoon @ 6:15 am
Tags: ,

Today I bring you the May Glossy Box.  This inaugural box was not actually for sale, but instead was sent to some select bloggers (not me) and some contest winners (me).  I entered to win a free Glossy Box – and I won!!!! That’s the first thing I’ve won over the internet and it made me giddy. I know that it was primarily to drive hype over the upcoming subscriptions, but I’m happy anyway.  Even though I received this free, as a prize, you will still get my honest, sometimes blunt opinion. Ok so what is in the box?

Click “more” to see the box and learn about what is in it. This one is photo heavy!

(more…)