Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Tan Towel – Review April 24, 2012

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 9:37 am
Tags: , ,

Today I bring you the Tan Towel which I received in my April Look Bag. Its been a nice mild spring here so I figured that while it is still jeans weather I should give the Tan Towel a shot so that if it all went wrong I’d not end up too embarassed since I can always wear jeans.

The Tan Towel is a 7×9 inch soft towel – sort of like a extra soft baby wipe that has self tanner in it.  This product DOES NOT have sunscreen and WILL NOT prevent buring. This simply gives the visual appearance of tanned skin.  The product says to wipe it onto the desired area of your skin smoothly and evenly – then to wash your hands immediately.  I took it one step further, I showered and exfoliated my legs so that the surface would be as even as possible. I also used laytex gloves since I really don’t want sunless tanner on my hands, even if it is supposed to wash off if done immediately.  I only did my legs because a half body towel is basically for half the body, and I wasn’t going to start a line at my waste, so I just did my mid thigh down.

How did it work?

I noticed that as I applied it the towel felt less and less moist – so when I got to leg #2 it seemed there was less product to transfer.  It takes 2-4 hours from application for the full tan to develop so I went about doing my morning routine in the bathroom, and totally took my time so I could get to 2 hours before I put my jeans on for the outings later that day.

Before                                                                                         After

 

After 2 hours I did see a bit of a difference in color and it was more brown than orange which was good. I snapped a photo and grabbed my jeans and changed into them.  I went about my day and when my husband got home I went to show him my now tanned legs. Then I saw in horror that the jeans had unevenly rubbed my legs in places to the point that my legs looked splotchy! They had gotten a bit darker – still not orange – in the places the jeans hadn’t rubbed, but my skin was almost back to pasty elsewhere.  Within a day and a half my legs have fully reverted (likely due to my jean wearing habbit).  The tan is intended to last up to 7 days.

I don’t suggest staying clear of the product, nor do I recommend it.  I think that if I was going out and planning on wearing a skirt that evening and wanted a bit of color I’d apply one in the morning and wear skirts or shorts until I put on my eveningwear. Then I’d be able to have a nice even tan.  I suspect that if you leave your legs free of abrasive pants like jeans that the tan would likely last the advertized 4-7 days – so that might be a way to go.

For me, however this is not a practical product so I’ll continue skipping the self tanner. I’ll live with the little bit of tan that makes it through my sunscreen.

Will I buy this again? No, its just not a product I want to use

Will I finish the sample? No, I will pass the second one over to my mom who is morbidly self conscious of her white legs – and let her know what I learned about the challenges with the product.

Here’s the breakdown:

Sample Size: 2 towels
Full Size:  5 towels
Full Size Price:  $10.80
Sample Value: $4.32

FTC  Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by The Look Bag or any of the brands included in the bag. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.