Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

My March BirchBox – Wrap Up April 11, 2012

Filed under: General,Haircare,Skincare — slagoon @ 12:21 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve had a chance to use and review all of the products from my March boxes and decide on how much I liked them. So now it is time to do my box wrap up.

In case you don’t remember, here is a summary of the Awesomeness level:

Box Awesomeness Level Review (AL)

  • 5 points for an item that surpasses everything else I’ve tried and becomes my #1 choice for what role it fulfills
  • 4 points for an item that becomes added to my permanent collection of cosmetics and I will repurchase
  • 3 points for an item that joins my “I might buy this again” list
  • 2 points for an item I finished or will finish the entire sample of but in the end decided not to re-purchase
  • 1 point for an item that I tried and immediately threw out/gave away
  • 0 points if the item was a duplicate of something from a previous bag/box/kit that only scored a 1 in that box – meaning I knew enough to not even bother with trying it.
  • Don’t forget that I subtract 1/2 point for samples that can only be used 2 or fewer times.
I’ll start with the standard box, then the Teen Vogue box and then will compare the two.

.

Normal March Box

Boscia Green Tea Blotting Linens
Sample Size 25 sheets
Full Size 100 sheets
Full Size Price $10.00
Sample Value $2.50

AL<- 3  If I have need for more blotting sheets I’ll look for these but they are not something I use frequently.

.

.

Kusmi Tea Paris – I Love My Detox Tea
Sample Size 2
Full Size 20
Full Size Price $21.94
Sample Value  $2.19

AL<- 4 I loved this tea. It won’t replace all my other teas, but it is a great addition to my tea collection.

.

.

Color Club Neon Nail Polish – Lava Lamp
Sample Size 0.25
Full Size 0.5 oz
Full Size Price $8.00
Sample Value $4.00

AL<-4 – I won’t need this color again, but I did really like the formula. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for more Color Club Polish

.

.

.

Grandma Stelle’s Hand Wash
Sample Size 2.0 oz
Full Size 13.5 oz
Full Size Price $20.00
Sample Value $2.96

AL<-3 This was nice, and I’ll use the whole sample up but it just doesn’t seem worth $20.00 for hand soap.

.

.

.

Traditions by Nick Chavez Yucca Shampooing Cream
Sample Size 2.0 oz
Full Size 8.5 oz
Full Size Price $20.00
Sample Value $4.70

AL<- 3 I liked this shampoo, but I like my current one better

.

.

.

stila Smoky Eye Shadow
Sample Size 0.005 oz (maybe less)
Full Size 0.9 oz
Full Size Price $45.00
Sample Value $0.25

AL<- 1 (minus 0.5) = 0.5 Again, seriously a cardboard sample? This was pathetic. I was tempted to give them 0 points for the sample, but I did swatch it before I threw it out.

.

Awesomeness level? 3+4+4+3+3+0.5    17.5 /6= 2.9
Sample Box Value $16.60. This is probably the lowest value box that I’ve ever received, however it got a pretty good Awesomeness level. I really did like most of the products. It would have gotten a much better level if the eye shadow hadn’t been such a low quality sample.

.

Teen Vogue March Box

kate spade new york Twirl
Sample Size 0.05 oz
Full Size 3.4 oz
Full Size Price $80.00
Sample Value $1.17

AL<- 0  I have received this before and hated it as much then as I did now. I gave it a quick sniff and it went in the trash bucket.

.

.

Kérastase Elixir Ultime
Sample Size 0.16 oz
Full Size 4.22 oz
Full Size Price $54.00
Sample Value  $2.05

AL<- 2 It was ok but in the end I am pretty sure I will not buy this again.

.

.

.

Twistband Hair Ties
Sample Size 1
Full Size 6
Full Size Price $10.00
Sample Value $1.66

AL <- 2 I won’t ever buy these, but I won’t squawk at free ones.

.

.

essie® Luxeffects Nail Polish
Sample Size 0.5 oz
Full Size 0.5 oz
Full Size Price $8.00
Sample Value $8.00

AL<- 4 I simply love Essie Polishes and this was not any different. I went out and bought another from the Luxeffects line the next day.

.

.

.

tarte LipSurgence™ lip tint
Sample Size 0.08 oz
Full Size 0.08 oz
Full Size Price $24.00
Sample Value $24.00

AL<- 3 I liked this, but the color wasn’t the best. I may or may not get another one of these in the future.

.

.

.

Awesomeness level? 0+2+2+4+3    11 /5= 2.2
Box Value $36.88. While this was a more valuable box, it didn’t necessarily win on Awesomeness level. The perfume really hurt this one’s level. Also the fact that I wouldn’t buy most of the items again.

Teen Vogue VS Standard Birchbox

The Teen Vogue had fewer items and fewer that I’d be interested in getting again. I really thought I was going to like it more, but you never know.  I do think that had I chosen the Teen Vogue as the normal box, thus eliminating the hair band and the perfume (since I had received them in previous boxes and BB tries not to repeat items) I would have been far happier with the box (that is from looking at the other TV boxes on the Birchbox Web Page).  Overall both boxes were great and I discovered some cool new products from both of them.  Birchbox is hit and miss for me, but I think that averaged through my 8 months of subscription, they have been pretty great.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Birchbox or any of the brands included in the box. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.

 

6 Responses to “My March BirchBox – Wrap Up”

  1. cinabear32 Says:

    I like your rating system!

    • slagoon Says:

      Thanks! I derived it from a couple other bloggers systems 🙂 I think both value of the box and how useful or good quality the items in the box are both important

  2. masquerade21 Says:

    Just thought I would let you know that I linked to this post in my most recent post ‘The Mystery Box Trend’.


Comments are closed.