Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

New Sample Review Format March 11, 2012

Filed under: General — slagoon @ 8:39 pm
Tags:

I wanted to share an upcoming change to how I review my sample subscriptions. I was reading through http://emilyspannring.wordpress.com/ ‘s site and she referenced Rachel, Savvy College Girl‘s  rating site – I thought this was a pretty neat method for grading the overall. Emily uses

  • “3 points for an item that surpasses everything else I’ve tried and becomes my #1 choice for what role it fulfills
  • 2 points for an item that becomes added to my permanent collection of cosmetics and I will repurchase
  • 1 point for an item that was convincing enough for me to give it a try
  • 0 points if the item was given away

Obviously, bags that have more stuff in them have the opportunity to gain more points. I believe this is fair. The general idea is to gain at least two new items to add to my collection, and try out the other two (as bags come with no less than 4 items) for a MINIMUM score of 6.”

I thought that was a great idea, but I want all bags/kits/boxes to be rated equally, so here is what I will do

  • 5 points for an item that surpasses everything else I’ve tried and becomes my #1 choice for what role it fulfills
  • 4 points for an item that becomes added to my permanent collection of cosmetics and I will repurchase
  • 3 points for an item that joins my “I might buy this again” list
  • 2 points for an item I finished or will finish the entire sample of but in the end decided not to re-purchase
  • 1 point for an item that I tried and immediately threw out/gave away
  • 0 points if the item was a duplicate of something from a previous bag/box/kit that only scored a 1 in that box – meaning I knew enough to not even bother with trying it.

I will subtract .5 points off each sample that provides 2 or less uses of the sample due to the size.  I will then add all the scores together and divide by the number of items in the bag – so no bag can receive a score larger than 5.0.

You will see this implemented in many upcoming posts – let me know if you like this format or not.