Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

ASK Cosmetics’ “Ultimate Bare Naked Nail Challenge” The Start March 5, 2012

Today will be the beginning of a 10 week series for the ASK Cosmetics’ “Ultimate Bare Naked Nail Challenge” I have crappy nails. I always have – and my habits have never really helped with that. I play with my classic car working to restore it, I use my nails to pry open things like Soda cans and to peel things like tape on a box. I paint my nails constantly – partially because I LOVE painting them – and partially to hide my nails. I have always had easy to chip nails.

As a child I would see my mom’s nails – the vision of perfection – long and strong and quick-growing – and then my own, always with grime under them, short, crooked, ugly.  And that is how my nails have been my whole life. Naturally when I saw on a blog I follow (neverenoughnails) that a challenge was coming up where I could potentially get the nails I have wanted my whole life I pounced.

If you do not like seeing photos of nails in horrible shape do not click on the break – these nails are in BAD shape.

I was selected – of course – who better to try out a solution aimed to fix horrible ugly nails than someone who has horrible ugly nails.  Here are a few photos from the week I submitted my entry into the challenge(in January).

   

Yesterday I received the package of items from ASK Cosmetics.  In the set were:

1 x T.I.P.S. Nail Conditioner 
1 x T.I.P.S. for Toes
1 x Contour Nail File
1 x 2 oz. Revival Hand & Nail Cleanser (Hand Soap)
1 x 2 oz. Revival Skin Conditioning Milk (Hand Cream)

There is no point in describing changes without photos so here is what my nails looked like before I began this daily regemine.

 

     

The first thing you are supposed to do is cut your nails all the way down to where there is no longer any visible damage (OR to the quick, whichever leaves your nail longer) *sigh* even my longer nails had damage on them so down they went.

The next thing you are supposed to do is file your nails using their special file – this thing was Scary looking! After carefully reading the instructions I gave it a go – and I now firmly believe this is one awesome tool. I will give lots of details about this in my week 1 progress report.

Then you are supposed to apply the conditioner. Because my nails were in such awful condition they sent me Tips for Toes in addition to the nail conditioner – this is 33% stronger than their fingernail formula – so I should see results faster than if I used the fingernail formula.

 

 

I applied it, waited a couple of minutes for it to soak in, then rubbed the stuff left over on my hands – being careful to avoid disturbing my cuticles – one of the paramount items to this regimen is to leave the cuticles alone – supposedly once they are healthy they will recede on their own.  Pushing them back apparently breaks a seal between them and your nail that is intended to keep your nails healthy.  Ok – I’ll give it a try – after all this is a free product with the caveat that I will follow the instructions and share my results.

The conditioner had a light scent to it. I read that it is unscented and any smell from it is purely from the ingredients. To me it smelled like wet pine needles – not my favorite scent, but it still was pleasant.

My new Baseline fingernails!

           

There are no instant results and there are not supposed to be. We were asked to catalogue our results over an 8-12 week period, so hopefully there will be some visible results at the end of that time.  In the meantime I will be chomping at the bit to try out my new China Glaze Capitol Colors collection – bad timing. That is a sacrifice I am willing to make for strong healthy nails (but don’t be surprised if I break it for one day when I go to see the movie!)

Some other bloggers who are participating in this challenge are:

http://www.jennafroggy.com/
http://perfectlypolishedtips.blogspot.com/
http://glazedtalons.blogspot.com/
http://priems-things.blogspot.com/    

I have created a menu item at the top of my page if you want to easily find posts related to this challenge in the future.

FTC Disclosure

This review contains a sample product sent for consideration by PR. My priority is to you, and I honor that commitment by being honest! I do not conduct paid reviews or guarantee reviews. I promise to remain truthful with you.

If you are uncertain what this all means, I suggest you to read my Disclosure Policy for further clarification.

 

6 Responses to “ASK Cosmetics’ “Ultimate Bare Naked Nail Challenge” The Start”

  1. Looking forward to seeing your results.I too have some polish I am “chomping at the bit” to wear.Thank you for including my blog linkie! 🙂

  2. Priem Says:

    Haha I got the same problem. I have about 20 new nail polish bottles that I can’t touch *cryyyyy* Peheheh but it’s for a good cause; right? 😀 Good luck with the challange. I’m already at my 5th week and things are looking good! My cuticles are the worse though.. and I must slap myself now and then when I find myself picking on them *oops*.


Comments are closed.