Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

ELF from Hautelook – it was worth a try February 22, 2012

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 4:59 am
Tags: , , ,

So, I’ve been reading tons of stuff lately on how ELF has really gotten their act together. I needed a new multi-purpose kit to just leave in the drawer at work, and Hautelook had ELF on sale. I picked up the e.l.f. Studio 83 Piece Essential Makeup Collectionand the e.l.f. 24K 6-Piece Shimmer Eyeliner Collection

I first tried ELF about 6 years ago 2005 shortly after their website allowed people to order from it. I was not yet very into makeup but $1.00/product? That sounded great, well too good to be true – and it was. I was thouroughly disappointed with every single product. Again this was all before I even learned what quality makeup was – this was just in comparison to drugstore stuff.  Well here it is 6+ years later and with everything I’ve seen lately I thought it was time to give them a second shot.

Here is what I got!

 

What did I think? Read on!

Lets start with the eyeliner, the colors are very pretty and go on smoothly. However, my eyes started burning almost immediately after I put them on.  I do not have any real sensitivities – yet these really did not go well with my body.  I will not be keeping these, which is unfortunate because the colors and finish are AMAZING.

Would I recommend it? If it doesn’t make your eyes water and itch and burn sure – the colors are bright and vivid and didn’t easily smudge on my hand.

Will I throw it out? Yes, it disagreed with my eyes too much.

Ok, now on to the palette – you will find nearly any color you want here.

   

In the very center are 3 brushes (lip, eye, cheek {face}) and 4 bronzing/highlighting colors.  The lower drawer contains 4 blush colors and 8 lip gloss colors. Then the top 2 shelves are 64 shades of eyeshadow.

Lets start with the blush, highlighters and bronzer (sorry th is image is quite blurry – I will retake it one of these days – but the colors are accurate).  The colors have a medium amount of pigment, probably on par with physicians formula, but they feel really odd, I suppose they are on the chalky side.

Next are the lip glosses – I only am showing 7 because the white (clear) one does not show up.  I do not like these – they feel cheep and drying. They do leave a nice wash of color – but I need moisture – especially in a gloss.

On to the shadow colors (i’m missing one row – and I’ll put that in later too):

Some of these are nearly creamy – others are dry as all get-out. almost all of these are very frosty/shimmery.  It seems that the more shimmer there is, the nicer it glides on.  Some are very pigmented, and others are poorly pigmented. overall for the $18.00 this palette I suppose it is just fine.  I would not buy it again – ever, and I am re-reminded about how you really do get what you pay for.  Costume jewelry is to diamonds as E.L.F. is to Lancôme. Well, at least I have some neat shades for when I just don’t have quite the right one with my good makeup.

Would I recommend it? No, the quality and consistency is not there.

Will I throw it out? No, it is not quite that bad.

e.l.f. Cosmetics – 83-Piece Makeup Palette
No Color / Size OS / Qty 1$17.50Non returnable

 
 

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Elf or Hautelook. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.

 

One Response to “ELF from Hautelook – it was worth a try”

  1. […] ELF from Hautelook – it was worth a try (thebeautifullagoon.com) […]


Comments are closed.