Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

MyGlam February (Bag #3) Impressions and value February 15, 2012

Filed under: General,Makup,Skincare — slagoon @ 11:50 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I just got my third MyGlam bag; the February bag dubbed the love bag or Valentines day bag by many in the community showed up on February 15th – which was awesome since they just started shipping on the 9th. This month was a cute little pink bag with hearts scattered across the fabric. It doesn’t feel waterproof/leakproof inside like last month’s did – but it is adorable – even though it is pink.  Ok – so what was in it?

  • X Out Shine Control (by Proactive)
  • NYX Roll on Shimmer in Onyx
  • Premier Dead Sea Cinderella Mask/Instant Streatching and Revitalizing Mask
  • Premier Dead Sea Concentrated Facial Serum with Vitamins E and C
  • Freeman Facial Mask Sachet in Goji Berry
  • 2 Ghirardelli chocolates
  • $100 certificate off a NuMe product

Lots of people are fairly upset with this bag – but I am subscribed to a sample program – that means I am sampling things that I probably wouldn’t buy on my own to see if I am interested in getting some for myself. I’m good with what I got.  Lets look deeper at the contents.

Read more below about the value and see photos of the un-bagging.

   

The X Out Shine control looks interesting. I saw folks on Influenster get the face wash in their Holiday Vox Box and they seemed quite happy with it. I normally like a *slightly* dewey look, but I’ll try this out – it might be good.  The sample is 0.75 oz and it seems the full size can only be purchased as part of the X Out kit – which is $19.95. (figure that the shine control is half the price of the full product and what we received was full size – I couldn’t find size information on the X Out site) which makes the sample worth $10.00.  I’ll try it and report back.

Next is the NYX roll on Shimmer. This is 0.052 oz (Full Size) and retails for roughly $4.25. I received Onyx, and other people received different colors from the 16 available colors. I did a quick roll on my hand as soon as I opened the package and I’m kinda excited to try it for real – it is shiny and pigmented.  I will report back after I give a full spin.

The Premier Dead Sea Cinderella Mask/Instant Streatching and Revitalizing Mask is an itty bitty tiny sachet of 0.07 oz. The full size, 2.04 oz, retails for $20.00 on Amazon.com. That makes the value of this sample approximately $0.69.  I’ll try it – but I think I’ll only get one use out of it.

The Premier Dead Sea Concentrated Facial Serum with Vitamins E and C is also 0.07 oz with the full size product sold as 1.7 oz on Amazon for $28.00. The value of this sample is $1.15. Depending on how thick it is I might get two uses out of this packet. Not sure if that is enough to give an opinion but I will sure try.

I really enjoyed the cucumber mask last month, so I’m psyched to try the Goji Berry one this month. It would have been nice to get a full size one since they retail for only $4.00 – but I know that does hike up shipping costs.  Anyway, these are available on Freemanbeauty.com for $1.99

Ghirardelli chocolates can be bought almost anywhere. At Walgreens they retail a bag of ~11 for $3.99; which makes the two squares worth $0.73. I immediately gave mine to a friend.

Finally the NuMe certificate. The certificate does have restrictions. It is for styling tools or human hair extensions only.  NuMe is one of those brands that has super high prices on their site, but has authorized sellers who sell it for FAR BELOW that MSRP. The mini flat iron sells for $115 on the NuMe web site with $12.00 shipping.  On Amazon.com it sells for $50.00 (and with Prime it ships free).  Based on that purchase the certificate is worth $23.00 – not bad!

This bag was neat set of samples and I’m still quite pleased with the service. The overall value of the bag was

  • $10.00 X Out Shine Control (by Proactive)
  • $4.25 NYX Roll on Shimmer in Onyx
  • $0.69 Premier Dead Sea Cinderella Mask/Instant Streatching and Revitalizing Mask
  • $1.15 Premier Dead Sea Concentrated Facial Serum with Vitamins E and C
  • $1.99 Freeman Facial Mask Sachet in Goji Berry
  • $0.73 2 Ghirardelli chocolates
  • $23.00 $100 certificate off a NuMe product

with a final value of $41.81.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by MyGlam or any of the brands included in the bag. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.

 

4 Responses to “MyGlam February (Bag #3) Impressions and value”

  1. Shanda Says:

    I got my bag today! I am so excited! I was just checking out the NuMe website! I don’t know what to get!! What do you plan on getting with your certificate?

    • slagoon Says:

      I don’t think I’m going to buy anything – I looked at their line and none of it really hits me as a “gotta have” I have curling irons, I have an AMAZING flat iron, I don’t use a blow dryer, and I don’t want extensions – besides Hautelook seems to have better values than what we’d get even with our $100 off… I think sample bags are super fun – I wish people didn’t get so ridiculously serious over it all.

      • Shanda Says:

        oh, ok! What flat iron are you using?

      • slagoon Says:

        I’m currently using the TurboIon Croc 2 Titanium Wet to Dry Flat Iron 1″. It has titanium plates and works at getting my damp hair flat and dry. It is pricy – but a great tool. I’m sure the NuMe ones are good too, but this one came highly recommended to me.


Comments are closed.