Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Fragrances Part 5 (the last) February 15, 2012

Filed under: General — slagoon @ 4:12 am
Tags: , , , ,

Today is part five of my fragrance reviews. This is the last day of reviews – and I have saved what are considered by many women, “the best” for last. You can view my entire order here. What am I reviewing today?

  

Today will be reviewing Chanel No. 5 for Women by Chanel and Joy for Women by Jean Patou. These two fragrances are probably the most widely known in the world. They both have also been around for many more years than most other brands have even existed.


Chanel No. 5
for Women by Chanel (1.7 oz $84.00) is described as:

The now and forever fragrance. The ultimate in femininity. An elegant, luxurious spray closest in strength and character to the parfum form. The sleek, portable signature bottle is perfect for the dressing table or travel.”

Right out of the bottle this is wicked strong – almost pungent – to the point that I nearly did not bother putting it on my wrist, but how could I not actually try what is probably the most famous fragrance of all time. This perfume was created in 1920 and has remained the best selling ever since.

Once I got it on my wrist I found I really don’t know how to describe this scent – it is floral, but not the common flowers – more like orchid or jasmine – maybe some herbal tea scent too. It is definitely NOT for me but I can see why other women love it. It is nice, but a little too strong.  It is very sophisticated. I think it doesn’t go with my personality – I’m a little too light-hearted for something this serious.


Joy for Women by Jean Patou  (1.6 oz $150.00) is described as:

“In an attempt to create the most splendid perfume ever, Jean Patou doubled the quantities of ingredients required for Joy. No fewer than 10,000 jasmine flowers and 28 dozen roses are required to make just 1 ounce of Joy Parfum Luxe. This gesture, extravagant even by today’s standards, revolutionized the way in which fragrances were created.

Notes: Bulgarian rose, tuberose, ylang-ylang, jasmine, May rose, civet, musk.”

I hope you enjoyed the reviews as much as I enjoyed sampling each of these.

I got a red rose for Valentines day yesterday. I put this on my wrist and then I smelled my rose – literally. They smelled very similar  (which makes sense with 336 roses included in the fragrance {28×12}) It has a little more than that – it is clean and fresh.  I do like this a lot. It is far more my style , however at over $93/oz this is not my price.  I definitely understand why this is a neck-in-neck contender with Chanel No. 5, and I definitely understand why it has remained in production since 1935.  Someday when I own my house and my car I will splurge and you will find this lovely sitting on my dresser.

I hope you enjoyed these reviews. I am by no means a fragrance expert. I do not have a refined nose. I’m just smelling them for you so you don’t have to 🙂  Let me know if there is anything I can do differently to make fragrance reviews more useful.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by any of the brands mentioned in this post. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.

 

2 Responses to “Fragrances Part 5 (the last)”

  1. k Elizabeth Says:

    Love the perfume testers photo. *fun*!!! 🙂

    • slagoon Says:

      Thanks – I really had fun with that one – though those testers are super hard to open without spilling the fragrance all over the place. I think the worst was when I did have the Bvlgari Amathyst explode all over my hands – it took me 3 hand washes to get rid of the scent 🙂


Comments are closed.