Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Fragrances Part 1 February 11, 2012

Filed under: General — slagoon @ 3:04 am
Tags: , , , ,

Remember a few days ago when I ordered a bunch of fragrance samples? They came in today! They were packaged in a super cute little box and they were very secure to prevent them from breaking. They each also have a very easy to read label so I know exactly which sample I’m trying. I’ll review three samples a day – much more than that and I won’t be able to tell the scents apart (yes I know the coffee bean trick) but why rush it? Right?

  

Today will be reviewing Alien for Women by Thierry Mugler, Rock Princess for Women by Vera Wang, and Princess Night for Women by Vera Wang. Since I got samples I don’t have photos of the full size so I am using images and descriptions from Sephora and Beauty Bar – again the photos and quoted descriptions are not my own.

Alien for Women by Thierry Mugler (1 oz $78.00)is described as:

“Radiant and mysterious, the elixir of absolute femininity. Be seduced by the soothing solar energy of this extraordinary fragrance from elsewhere. Luminous like a brilliant solar flower, the fragrance exudes a positive energy, charged with mystery. Evoking the scent of wood warmed by intense sunlight, Alien is sensual and intriguing, yet as soft and rich as the caress of cashmere.

Notes:
Solar Accord, Jasmine Sambac, Green Notes, Cashmeran, Vanilla, Transparent Amber.
Style:
Mysterious. Soothing. Magnetic.”

I am a total fragrance newbie so I don’t even know what that means! I know what vanilla is, but isn’t amber the stuff that comes out of pine trees and hardens? To me this is a useless description. Oh well – what do I think? It is ok – a little intense. It smells like exotic flowers. I can sort of smell the vanilla but that is way below the other scents. It also smells a little sweet like a citrus. It is nice but for me it would not be a daily use perfume – it is a little too exotic for me for everyday. I’ll keep the sample and use it for special occasions.

Rock Princess for Women by Vera Wang (3.2 oz $72.00) is described as:

“lush, bittersweet red raspberry, white peach, heliotrope, creamy coconut, jasmine, rose, musk, iris, vibrant bergamot; lily, cashmere woods”

It is supposed to be a more grown-up version of Vera’s original Princess. Grown up? I don’t know – it reminds me of the cheap knock off perfumes that I used in high school – except this is higher quality so the scent doesn’t disappear after an hour.  I definitely get the coconut, and the musk.  The coconut makes it sort of smell like tanning lotion, like you would wear for an indoor tanning bed.

This is definitely not for me. I really hoped it would “rock” a little more.  Anyway, it was good to try.

Princess Night for Women by Vera Wang (1.7 oz $60.00) is described as:

“When the sun goes down, she’s got the royal right to reign. Princess Night is part mischievous, part glam, but all sparkle. The fragrance is a floral exotic woody scent, one that’s full of mystery and sparkle. Its first impressions include sweet wild berries, watermelon, and raspberry. A delicate mix follows, with velvety jasmine petals, orange flowers, passion rose, and plumeria. It finishes with an intoxicating blend of spices that are intensely chic and long lasting.

Notes:
Wild Berries, Watermelon, Raspberry, Jasmine Petals, Orange Flower, Passion Rose, Plumeria, Crushed Sugar, Creamy Woods, Sensual Musk, Vanilla.
Style:
Chic. Intoxicating. Mysterious.”

When I first opened this I was smacked in the face with the orange and the rose. I thought “oh no, two busts in one review!” but those two scents have retreated and now I’m getting a lot more of a creamy and sweet smell with a touch of vanilla.  I like it a lot more than Rock Princess, but not as much as Alien – though this would definitely be much better for daily wear.  I don’t hate it, but I will be giving it out for those who want to try a new fragrance.

Check back tomorrow for more samples!