Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Naked 2 by Urban Decay February 6, 2012

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 4:59 pm
Tags: , ,

Naked 2 has been heralded as the most anticipated sequel in the makeup world.  At first I thought “what’s the hype all about?” but then I saw it in person at Sephora and I understood. There are some great colors in it that I don’t already have – yes there are some I already have from the Naked 1 palette and the 15th Anniversary palette but overall, for me, this is a mostly new set of colors.  Even though there only seems to be so many different looks you can do with neutral colors, there is really a much more diverse set of looks than you would expect.

As with the Naked 1 palette there are shimmers (Booty call, chopper, suspect, pistol, verve, busted), glitters (half baked, snake bite, ydk)  and mattes (foxy, tease, blackout).  This palette is a plastic tray resting inside a metal case, which certainly seems like an upgrade. when I bought this it came with a double-sided  Urban Decay Karma  brush which is a completely different size than the one from the first palette. It also came with a lip gloss which I will talk about in a future post.

I feel like again, the matte colors do come short of impressing me – if I had to pick a brand for matte I’d stick with Too Faced, but these still aren’t bad, just not AS good.  The color payoff is pretty good. I needed to go with two layers of blackout to get it opaque, but again I am super pale so that makes some sense – the photo makes it look a bit more brown than it comes out, but it does come out a true black, like if you were playing with coal all day.

I really like this palette and I am sure that I will get tons of use out of it.

Have you tried both Naked 1 and Naked 2? If so which is your favorite?