Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

January Birchbox “Clarity” FINALLY arrived January 27, 2012

Yay!  My January Birchbox just arrived on the 24th! It stinks that it took so long, but I suppose that is the deal you get when Mother Nature throws you her worst. We were snowed in for nearly a week and without power for a couple days but this and my other samples all have made the month much more tolerable.

     

Don’t worry I will do a review of each of the products (except the granola and the fragrance which I will describe here).

So, was it worth the $10 this month?

I received:

  • Befine – Night Cream
    • Sample Size: 0.5 oz
    • Full Size (oz): 1.7 oz
    • Full Size Value: $30.00
    • Sample Value: $8.80
  • Juicy Couture – Viva La Juicy
    • Sample Size: 0.05 oz
    • Full Size (volume): 1.7 oz
    • Full Size Value: $69.00
    • Sample Value: $2.00
  • Stila – Smudge Stick Waterproof Eyeliner – Blue Ribbon
    • Sample Size: Full Size
    • Full Size Value: $20.00
    • Sample Value: $20.00
  • VMV Hypoallergenics – Re-Everything: Eye Serum
    • Sample Size: 0.41 oz
    • Full Size (volume): 1.1 oz
    • Full Size Value:$80.00
    • Sample Value: $29.00
  • Wichcraft – Granola
    • Sample Size: Not given
    • Full Size (volume): 8 oz
    • Full Size Value: $8.00
    • Sample Value: probably about $1.00

So, the total value of the box is approximately $60.00 (I had to triple check my math to make sure I got it right – that’s a pretty high value).

As with almost all fragrance samples I really didn’t want. I tried it on a piece of tissue paper first to make sure it wasn’t completely offensive – it was not. I put a tiny bit on my wrist – and my goodness my pH does not like Juicy – I smelled like a skunk lifted his tail on my wrist.  As always, I’d really rather go to the mall and smell their samples than get one of these as part of a sample box, but all in all I just don’t wear perfume.

Remember, fragrance is a chemistry thing, a fragrance will change from person to person depending on:

  • current stress
  • normal pH of the individual
  • Recently eaten food
  • hormone changes
  • Skin porocity

Just remember that even though a fragrance didn’t work for me doesn’t mean it won’t work for you.

The granola is another sample I’m not super into. I do not like granola. So rather than taste it and tell you I hate it, I took a pretty photo of it so you can see all of the stuff inside it.

It looks like something a granola lover would adore. There are lots of different nuggets of healthy stuff in it. It has obviously not been highly processed.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Birchbox or any of the brands included in the box. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.

 

2 Responses to “January Birchbox “Clarity” FINALLY arrived”

  1. sheerglitz Says:

    Wow, my BB was way different than yours! I like what you got. I do get the Stila eyeliner, but wish I got Blue (purple instead).

    • slagoon Says:

      Birchbox has around 20 different boxes. Often they are only different by one item, like some people didn’t get the granola and got a snack bar. Others got a different fragerence sample. You can actually look at the different box configs by changing the box number in the URL that shows your box. Anyway I was happy with this month. Thanks for your comment


Comments are closed.