Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

MyGlam January (Bag #2) Impressions and value January 23, 2012

Filed under: General,Haircare,Makup,Skincare — slagoon @ 5:47 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I just got the second MyGlam bag; the January bag called “back to nature”.  It took forever due to the storm we had in WA. Anyway I was excited to finally get the bag.  What came in it?

  • Freeman Feeling Beautiful Cucumber Peel Off Mask
  • Sheer Cover Concealer in Light/Medium
  • The Balm Hot Ticket nail polish in “Sky Blue Right Past You”
  • Wen Conditioning Cleanser in Sweet Almond Mint
  • Coupons for each of the products
  • A cute makeup bag for travel

I haven’t tried the peel off mask yet, but I will probably devote an entire post to it. They sent a full size which is 6 oz and retails for $4.00.  It smells good and I can’t wait to try it.

Next is the Sheer Cover Concealer in Light/Medium. This is a full size item. It retails for $29.00. I will do a review on it later too, but I fear that it is too dark for me, especially the “Medium” side.

I immediately put on the nail polish. The formula is really nice but it takes a lot of coats to get it opaque. Most of my fingers I had to put on 3 coats, and a couple fingers required a fourth coat.  The polish holds up really nicely, even with my amount of wear and tear.  This was also a full size item and it retails for $10.00

I’ve already tried out Wen when I got the sample from Influenster. I liked it but I didn’t love it. I’d rather use a normal shampoo with that Joico conditioner that I got from Beauty Army.  I’m going to give it away as part of an upcoming contest. Look for it before the end of February.  The sample was 2 Fluid Oz and the Full size is 12 Fluid Oz.  The full size sample goes for about $36.00 which makes the sample worth $6.00.

This bag was neat set of samples and I’m still quite pleased with the service. The total value of the bag was $49.00 The only minute complaint I have is that MyGlam had claimed this month’s bag would be worth over $50, and if I had gotten the eyeshadow instead of the nail polish it would have raised the value up to $55.00 which would have made it meet the claim.  I think they may have inadvertently left off the Sachets from the Freeman item (if they had included 2 at the listed $2.00 each that also would have raised the price to over $50.00) . If you are going to make claims that something has a certain value, you should make sure that you make good on that claim.  This again, is a really petty complaint in my opinion, but I did have to mention it.

The sample I will definitely use is the nail polish. I might use the concealer if the color is right, and I might use the masque. With the cost of the bag at $10.00 and the value of the nail polish at $10.00, even if I don’t use anything else I will have gotten my money’s worth.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by MyGlam or any of the brands included in the bag. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.