Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

I’m Back! and I’ve got Mascara – Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Lashes November 27, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 3:39 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I am now officially married! Hurray. Jared and I have been together for about 3 years and we tied the knot on 11-11-11 on a cruise ship. For the special occasion I wanted special eyes (more on that later) so I figured I’d invest in a super nice mascara that I’ve been lusting after.  About a day before I left to go to Texas for the wedding, my doll eyes kit arrived (lash primer, mascara, and liquid liner), so I just grabbed it and brought it with me without trying it.  Remember how I liked  Lancôme Hypnôse Drama? I figured this would be just as good if not better.  I was smart and brought two other mascaras I’ve used and liked before just in case this was not the miracle eye I’ve been looking for.

Did I end up wearing it for the wedding? no – and here is why.

                                    BEFORE                                                                                 AFTER

We’ll start with the brush. It is not very intimidating. It is shaped like a cone (think Christmas Tree) and has a medium density of bristles.  I’m not sure why but I get a lot more product on the tube part of the wand than I have with other mascaras, which ends up leaving product on my face since I  hit my cheekbones sometimes. The formula itself is very thick and sometimes clumps on the wand which is tough to fix with the shape of the brush.

How does it do on the eyes? I felt that I got tons more length and tons more volume however it really clumped my lashes together which I really don’t like.

So for my Wedding I used the Dior show blackout waterproof mascara with a set of false eyelashes for extra drama. I’ll have photos up later.

Would I buy doll lashes again? No, I don’t think I would – there are other mascaras out there that I like better. The search continues. As always you can see all my comparisons here.

Have you tried them? What do you think?

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Lancôme or any store mentioned. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.