Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Make Up For Ever HD concealer review October 25, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 11:33 am
Tags: , , , ,

Do you ever have those mornings where the area under your eyes looks like Grimace sat on them and left some of his purple behind?  Since my LASIK procedure a few months ago I have had more problems with tired looking and feeling eyes than ever before.  I’ve started using eye creams daily and that has helped a bit but I still get these purple bags. Yep I get that they are not as bad as some people get – but it still bugs me.  So what do I do? I put some concealer there and hope no one else notices!  As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve got a stash I keep at work. Currently in that stash is the Make Up For Ever HD concealer. I bought this one because I’ve always heard that you should use a concealer that is lighter than your own skin color. Well, I’m super pasty – like bad, so it was difficult finding a concealer that light colored. Additionally my skin has a slight pink tint so yellow based products usually make me look ill – Make Up For Ever HD concealer came in the color I needed so I snatched it up!

Lets start with the packaging. The concealer is in a pen with a clicker on one end and a soft rubber nozzle on the other. I can only assume that the nozzle is designed as it is so that the tip can be used to dab the product onto your skin (like you would with your finger) but the problem with that is more product will continue to come out. This is not a major issue, but something that can be annoying. The formula is thicker than foundation but not as thick as a product like Urban Decay’s Primer Potion. The color I got is slightly more pink than yellow.  In the photos those dark blue/green areas are my veins so please ignore that part of the photos. The product blends easily into the skin and leaves the area just a hue lighter and with minimal extra coverage.

Here are before and after pictures so you can compare

Before                                                                               After

As you can see the purple area under my eye is just slightly less purple in the second photo. (the only difference between the two photos is the concealer)

Results? Its not bad enough to throw away but I don’t think I’d get it again. There are plenty of other concealers to try.

What is your favorite concealer?

 

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Make Up For Ever or any store mentioned. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.