Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Gel Cream Liner Review October 7, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 11:15 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My favorite drug store brand remains Physicians Formula. I have been using today’s product for months now, but not talked about it too much. It is the Shimmer Strips custom eye enhancing gel cream liner for Green Eyes.

What is it, you ask? It is a set of 3 cream/gel eye liners that compliment your eye color – so you buy the set for the color your eyes are (green, blue, brown, hazel). My eyes (as you’ve probably noticed from the mascara comparisons) are green – so I bought the green set.

This particular set has three colors, matte green, matte purple, and black with green sparkles – very subtle sparkles. They come in three little pots that have caps that allow them to attach to each other – I consider them lego’s for adults.  Some people have siad they have trouble getting these apart, but truly, you just pull really hard and they come off – you won’t break anything (you can also try prying with a screwdriver or butter knife).

Unlike many stack-able potted products these each have their own caps instead of using the bottom of the next product as a cap, which allows you to throw just one in your purse or keep them all together – whichever you want.

 

So the packaging is sweet – how is the formula? Well, another word about the packaging – each pot has a cap which is important for ANY cream eyeliner. Why? They dry out super fast if left open to the air. If they didn’t dry out it also wouldn’t dry on your face leaving smudgy makeup everywhere. The formula starts out like a really thick gel. It reminds me of the consistency of a body butter. When they get a little dried out it is more like the consistency of a thick cheese spread. Don’t let that deter you though. They have good caps that keep the pigments well sealed.  The pigments are bold colors and go on really smooth. As you can see on my swatch, depending on what brush you use you can get a very nice smooth thin line. I’ve also heard of people using these as cream eyeshadows. They are too bold for my taste but I imagine they would work great.

These are not the most lasting liners you’ll ever experience. Here is a photo of me wearing the liner.

This is after 8 hours of wear. It looks fine from a few feet away, but you should be able to see in the close up that some of the color has just disappeared. It is 100% NOT waterproof. Do not, I repeat, do not go swimming, walk in the rain, or cry with this on or you will at best lose your product, or at worse have bad smudges. They sell from $8.00-$14.00 for the trio which is between 2.70 and 4.60/color. When you look at it that way it is a pretty decent price. Each pot is about 0.07 oz. When you compare that to my Tarte emphasEyes which is 0.08 oz, it doesn’t seem bad at all.

Do not get me wrong – I would not endorse these over the Tarte if money was not an issue. Tarte has a far superior product. However, these are a good product and are well worth the small amount of money they cost.

Which would you do? Buy one product for a medium price that is really amazing or buy three products for a lower price that is just good?

Thoughts?

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Physicians Formula. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.