Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Chubby Chap – review September 30, 2011

Filed under: Skincare — slagoon @ 2:18 pm
Tags: , , ,

At my work they have a little convenience store where you can drop off laundry, buy snacks and small gifts, and rent movies.  As I was buying a nail clipper to get rid of my broken nail – really trying not to bite them – I saw these neat fat looking tubes and of course I had to look. They were called Chubby Chap. They had 7 flavors: Buttercream Vanilla, Huckleberry, Mango, Oatmeal Cookie, Peach Daiquiri, Pomegranate and Strawberry Banana.

I picked out the Peach Daiquiri since I really love peach flavor and scent. This giant tube is 0.5 oz – that’s huge – the typical chapstick size is around 0.15 oz. The circumference is just shy of the circumference of a quarter and it is nearly as tall as my iphone.  It reminds me of a glue stick size.

Anyway, so I bought it for $6.00. Upon opening it, immediately I was hit with the scent of peaches, like canned peaches in syrup or a peach bellini. I jumped on putting it on my lips. It felt good but not as great as my burt’s bees that I cherish – however I can read and say the names of all 4 ingredients which is a nice change from the typical multi-syllabolic ingredients these days.  So, doesn’t feel as good on my lips as I prefer, but it’s not bad. It only lasts a little while so I understand why you need such a big tube. It also doesn’t really moisturize but it does seal in whatever moisture is already there.  But there is 1 amazing thing – every time I breathe in I taste wonderfully sweet peaches.

Would I buy it again? No, but I will certainly finish off the tube – hopefully before the decade is over.  You can visit their page at http://www.chubbychap.com

Did you ever just buy something because you couldn’t resist the packaging?