Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Lancôme free gift with purchase review of “Pinks” palette September 21, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 1:14 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

As I discussed in my previous post, I took advantage of Macy’s “Free gift with Lancôme purchase” last month and got a load of awesome samples. Today I’ll share the “Pinks” palette.

This palette has four different colors, three of which are available in Lancôme’s
color design singles line*.  The four colors are (top left to bottom right) Designer*, Pink Pearls*,  Lava and Exhibition*.  The color design singles are each 0.042 oz, and in this palette each is 0.03 oz for a total of 0.12 oz – so these get pretty close to full size products.  As with all of the Lancôme products I’ve tried before, each of these is smooth and nicely pigmented.

I find it amusing that “Pink Pearls” is actually the only matte color in the entire set – you’d think that something with the pearl name would have a sheen. Anyway, that one is the color of cotton candy. Exhibition sounds like such a gaudy name but it is actually just a nice dusty rose shadow with a light sheen. Designer is supposedly a metallic green, but it just seems like a standard shimmer to me.  Finally, Lava is a dark pinkish brown that is a shimmer. This is my least favorite color in the set, but I still like it.

Designer  •  Pink Pearle     •    Lava      •      Exhibition

The top swatches are dry and the bottom swatches are wet.  Since I am still learning to play with the colors I opted for dry when I went to create my look (and then very heavily blended).

I switched up how I do my eyes and went from darkest to lightest this time (like from the Kat Von D tutorial on Sephora’s web site) and did Lava in the outer V with Designer going a little further out in each direction over it. Then I put Exhibition over the lid and blended everything with Pink Pearls.

This color lasted all day without a hiccup.

I finished off the look with Tarte EmphasEYES black cream liner and Hypnôse Drama Mascara.

If you like the two colors that are available you can find them at Macy’s or Nordstrom’s for $18.00 each.

What do you think? What would you change?

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Lancôme or any store mentioned. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.