Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss – Sheer Color “POP” review September 15, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 10:58 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Good Morning Everyone!

Good Morning!

I was super excited this morning to see that I’d gotten my first 2 comments (or at least those that weren’t filtered by the spam filter) but alas to my dismay the comments were indeed spam, just better than the typical spam. I know you’re reading – tell me what you like so I can do more of that!

On to the review. Smashbox is a hit and miss brand for me. I like their halo perfecting powder (more to come on that someday) and their photo finish  primer, but most of their colored cosmetics do nothing for me – to the point that I don’t buy them.  There have been a few that are tempting, but when I turn around and see things that scream my name over at Urban Decay, Too Faced, and Lancôme, it’s a little too easy to walk away.

Anyway, earlier this year I purchased the  Sephora Favorites Set For Summer just to try to get some more variety and not the same stuff I’d been buying. One of those items was the Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss – Sheer Color in “POP”. This is with me all the time now.

This gloss is a somewhat sticky gloss with a sheer coral tint. As you can see in the first photo of my lips, I have naturally pink lips that are moderately full – as a result I tend to shy away from dramatic colors because I feel they overwhelm my face so this neutral color is really a hit for me. The applicator is a brush – which I love. I’ve always had trouble with the doe foot applicators and getting the glosses on straight. (All the sheer colors of this gloss come with the brush – all the others come with a doe foot) As you can see from the “after” photo, this stuff seeps into my lip lines and evens everything out, while providing just a tiny bit of emphasis on the lips. This specific color also helps make my top and bottom lip colors match.

It stays on for about an hour or so before I feel a need to re-apply, but it goes on nice and quick and easy. It has no real scent or flavor – which is fine – the last thing I need is to constantly lick my lips.  It does feel like it moisturizes my lips which is something I require from a gloss.

This gloss retails for $18.00.  Will I buy it again? Maybe. I’ve got a boat-load of glosses at home that are nice (though not as nice as this one) that I should finish before I buy more. However, this may be the very first lip gloss I use until all the product is gone.

What do you think?

What is your favorite gloss?