Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Butter London Haul! and swatch of Dosh! September 13, 2011

Filed under: Makup — slagoon @ 10:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

My two bridesmaids, Jamie and Nicole, threw me my bachelorette  party at Queen Mary Tea House. This tea house has tons of super cute trinkets like tiaras and giant rings and tea books. This time I noticed they started carrying Butter London nail lacquer. SCORE! I’d never seen it in stores before near me – but this place made sense since they promote things that relate to High Tea, and what relates more to High Tea than LONDON? Anyway, I’ve read nothing but rave reviews of these polishes from different bloggers and I decided I must check them out for myself. Funny enough another store that I went to later that day (Fireworks) also carried these.  Anyway, they had loads of colors, almost everything on the Butterlondon.com website. I kept myself to only 6 though I wanted all of them – but I decided to get ones that shouldn’t be doups for anything I have at home.
I picked up:

  • No More Waity, Katie (purple glitter) (Sold out online)
  • Dosh (green shimmer)
  • Scoundrel (light purple cream)
  • Lady Muck (baby blue Pearl)
  • Cheeky Chops (canary yellow cream)
  • Jaffa (orange/pink cream)

   

I haven’t had time to try them all yet but I put Dosh on last night.  This is a shimmery olive green. It really reminds me of spanish olives – or maybe baby grass – like a week after you plant grass seeds before it gets to that less yellow-darker green color.

Being unfamiliar with Butter London’s formula I went conservative and thin with my layers – which turned out to be unnecessary. The name describes it – it goes on like warm butter. Dosh went on fairly transparent. By my third ultra thin coat I could still see where the whites of my nail began so I went on to a fourth which tidied it up nicely – I should be able to get away with 2 normal coats in the future.  This went on top of CND sticky and was topped with two coats of Seche Vite.

In the photos you can see some tip wear. This is after about 18 hours of wear BUT that is really normal for me. I am really hard on my hands and have never been able to get more than 3 full days out of ANY nail polish.

Do you believe you have a polish that could stand up to my abuse? Send me a sample and I will prove or disprove your claim.

As you can see – in different light there are different tones that come out from the shimmer.  It is a really great color and a very nice polish.

Have you used Butter London polishes before?  What do you think?

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Butter London or any store mentioned. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.