Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

September 11, 2011 September 11, 2011

Filed under: General — slagoon @ 9:11 am

Today I will break from my posts about trivial Beauty products and pay respects to the innocent victims of the 9/11 tragedy from 10 years ago.  I live in Seattle now and though people here seem to care about it – it doesn’t seem personal to anyone here. I spent 20 of the first 23 years of my life on the East Coast between New Jersey and upstate New York.  As a result I had many friends and colleagues who lost their friends and family members – it felt personal.  I was lucky to not lose anyone myself.

I can never forget my fathers students who never got to see their mom’s or dad’s again, or his co-workers who lost their husbands or wives or children.  One of my close friends at the time had an uncle who was a first responder fire-fighter whose body still to this day was never identified.

As the years pass people will forget what happened all those years ago, but I want to remember in my own little way. If you lost anyone in those attacks you understand, and please take this moment with me to remember.

You will be remembered.