Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Lancome Color Design Palette – Mauve Cherie 301 review August 27, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 11:48 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

About a week ago I heard that purchases of Lancôme products at Macys came with a really neat gift with purchase. I only needed to spend $35.00 to get the free gift. I’d been eyeing the Mauve Chérie palette for awhile now. I like wearing purples because it brings out my green eyes, and this one had hues that I didn’t already have and it looked oh so sparkly.  I love sparkles! (I’ll grow up someday, maybe around 50 years old). Anyway, I had such a great experience with the Jade Fever palette that I knew I would love this palette too.

As usual, these palettes cost $48.00, so I was able to get my free gifts which I’ll review later. Well, the palette arrived yesterday, and it was everything I could do to leave it until today.  I was able to restrain myself.

First thing this morning I swatched it. I was surprised that the colors did not stay true to the palette, but they were still lovely colors. As with Jade Fever, all the colors went on very smoothly – they feel like silk when touched. They also blend really well.

As you can see from the photos, the compact comes in the standard Lancôme packaging. As with Jade Fever the colors come with a clear label showing you where you are supposed to place the colors. I tried to apply it as noted. I always use “highlight” colors both in the inner corner of my eye and at my brow line.  As you can see in the first photo of my eye, the highlighter is far too dark and too brown to look right at my brow line – it makes it look like I need a brow shaping! Awful – but I took a photo so you could see what I mean. The highlight color did look nice in my inner eye area.  I instead used some more of the “all over” color at the brow line.

The lid and crease colors came out nice, if muted. I tried the eyeliner color dry and it was too grey and light for me to like it so I tried it wet. It looked nice wet – but still not as perfect of a line as I prefer.  Next time I use the palette I will probably use the “all over” as intended, the “crease” on my lid, the “lid” on my crease and the liner on my outer eye area. But it did look good as suggested with the one alteration I noted.

As always I am impressed with the quality of the Lancôme products.  I will definitely continue to purchase these products.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Lancôme or any store mentioned. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.