Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Tarte emphasEYES cream eyeliner Review August 26, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 10:05 am
Tags: , , , ,

In a lot of my posts about makeup I mention what I did to complete the look, and I usually mention my Tarte emphasEYES cream eyeliner.  This is my favorite eyeliner ever.  I’ve always had trouble with pencils and getting both full coverage, a nice shaped line, and avoiding my eyes feeling like they are being abused. On liquid liners I don’t feel like I have much control, and if I want to make the line less sharp I can’t really.

In comes the Tarte emphasEYES cream eyeliner. This is part of their Amazonian clay makeup line. It is a waterproof cream liner. I typically use the pure black one, but I also have the purple, the green, and the bronze.  The colors are rich and true. What you see is what you get.

This formula is is creamy and goes on smoothly. It comes with a liner brush that has a fine tip for lining on one end and a small densely packed brush for smudging on the other end.  I typically will smudge along my lower lashes but keep it nice and crisp on my upper lashes.  I’ve also found the smudge end is perfect for applying powder to my eyebrows.

I’ve heard people complain that it dries out quickly. On that – a major tip is to only open it when you are going to use it and tighten it completely after use.  Most of mine haven’t dried out, but my bronze did start drying out a few weeks ago. I added just a tiny bit of moisturizer to it and after a few days the liner had soaked it in and worked as good as new.  Another tip to avoid the drying is to only take from one place in the jar. As you can see in the upper left corner of my jar there is a lot of disturbed liner.  I take only from that location. I find that I get the most useful product when I insert the liner brush vertically into the jar and twist it around.  During application I can then twist the brush when I run low on product and continue my line.

As you can see on the picture with the heart, the liner comes out a perfect black, and also smudges out perfectly if smudged immediately after being applied. I’ve spent a lot of time rubbing my hands and even a couple washes in the last 6 hours since I put that heart on, and while it has faded a tiny bit, it is still definitely there, and that rubbing is heavy compared to anything your eye would encounter. From the images of my eye you can see the liner as well and what a nice sharp line it makes.

As I’ve noted before, I work 12 hour days so the staying power on makeup is extremely important to me. This stuff makes it through and then some.  It does come off fairly easily with my Oil Free Neutrogena makeup remover.

Each color is 0.08 oz and comes with a brush. They retail for $22.00 at Sephora.  Sometimes you can pick them up for less at All Cosmetics Wholesale which is a great store to check out anyway.

My suggestion? Pick up at least one.

What’s your favorite eyeliner?

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated byTarte. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.