Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Opi Designer Series – Magic August 20, 2011

Filed under: Makup — slagoon @ 8:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

If you like nail polish you definitely would know of Opi – even if you’d never used it.  I’ve learned lately that I don’t pick or bite my nails when they have polish on them – so in hopes of them growing out nice in time for the cruise I have been expanding my polish collection. My latest snag was one of the Opi Designer Series- Magic. Magic is the newest shade (along with Radiance) to the collection. It is a sapphire/cobalt blue. It has purple and blue micro glitter in it. If you are looking for something to compare it to, the blue on “smart water” bottles is the same color. It goes on quite transparent for the first coat. I was concerned that I missed that it was intended as a finishing coat or something. The second coat helped a lot, and a 3rd coat made it completely opaque.

Since I’m as new to polish as I am to makeup I’m going to try to describe it a bit more – but please correct me if I’ve messed up.  This is what is called a jelly polish as opposed to a cream polish. It could be used over a different color and I’m going to check it out another time, but it is semi transparent with microscopic glitter particles suspended inside it.  This dries VERY slowly, so a quick dry top coat is a must. I used Seche Vite.  I’d say the finished product is a duo-chrome due to the way the glitter shimmers differently depending on the direction of the light.

It is one of the more expensive polishes in the Opi line at $12.00/bottle compared to the normal $9.50. It can be snagged for less at the Nail Polish Diva site http://www.nailpolishdiva.com/opi_designer_nail_polish.htm.

I’m pretty hard on my hands, most of the time my polish lasts only 1 full day before intense signs of wear and only 2-3 before its chipped beyond repair.  This one lasted a day and a half without incident – and then I decided to alter them…

I received my haul from Kleancolors where I’d ordered “Madly Matte”.  I had heard good things about matte over sparkle so I thought I’d give it a try. By the way, Madly Matte is a fantastic Matte top coat. I  highly recommend!

I really like the result even though they were stunning before, they are still quite nice. I would definitely purchase this again, and will likely try more from the Opi Designer series.

What do you think of the look?

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Opi. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.