Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

August Birchbox – Smashbox Photo Finish Review August 19, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 10:09 am
Tags: , , , ,

The final instalment of my August Birch Box reviews is the Smashbox Photo Finish face primer. The claim is that it provides a perfect base for a foundation for a flawless natural look. Smashbox says that it helps minimize the appearance of fine lines as well as be light feeling and long lasting.

A few months ago I took a makeup class. I didn’t have a clue about doing my own makeup and in November I am getting married on a cruise, so I wanted to be able to do my own wedding makeup (which led to my current obsession).  Anyway, my instructor, Shanelle, told me that I NEEDED this product for my wedding day. During my personal shopping day with her, she snagged a mini for me in the Sephora aisle of evil (the impulse items that you have to walk through on your way to pay).  I hadn’t used it yet because it is quite expensive, and I don’t typically use a primer since I typically use a tinted moisturizer.

Anyway this super mini gave me a perfect reason to try it! Yay.  So what’s the verdict?

I like it, the primer does have a light feel – almost like a silicone feel. It goes on really smoothly and lasts. It lets me use half as much of my foundation or moisturizer since those don’t soak into my skin really anymore.

Below are three sets of photos – each has one WITH the primer and one without. Not telling which is which yet – check it out and see if you can tell. (Large photos)

Ok – here are the answers – on the top one of my hand, the left circle is bare skin, the right circle has the primer on it. You should be able to see fewer/smaller pores.

Ok next is the full face. The one on the left is with smashbox and the one on the right is without. The overall texture is slightly more refined. 

Finally the super zoom that every woman over 18 hates – the eye wrinkles – er smile line. These were (as was the face) taken on two different days, so it’s not a lighting change, it IS different eyeshadow.  If you look on the left side of the eyes  the deep crease that you see is less deep on the one with the green shadow (on the left). Also you should be able to see the texture on the cheek is smoother on the left eye.

Overall the differences are subtle BUT they are there.  I assume that if I had used my DIOR foundation over the primer rather than my typical tinted moisturizer it would probably be more dramatic.

As I mentioned before it is pricy. The sample is 0.25 fl oz. The travel size is $16 for 0.5 fl oz ($32.00/oz). A 1 fl oz unit is $36 ($36/oz – bad value). At Sephora you can get a 2 fl oz for $49.00 (which is the best value at $24.50/oz).

I would recommend this. Aside from the benefits of helping your skin’s textural appearance it does let you use less of your other product, and if you have a $60.00 foundation like me, you will like that.  I should mention that there are some of these that have a tint to them. The product I reviewed is the original – “colorless”.

Here are some links that you can use to shop.

0.5 fl oz – http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P88003&shouldPaginate=true&categoryId=3990

1.0 fl oz – http://www.birchbox.com/shop/august-box/smashbox-cosmetics-photo-finish-primer

1.0 or 2.0 fl oz http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P9889&categoryId=RVP

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Birchbox or any of the brands included in the box. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.