Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Urban Decay 15 Year Anniversary Eyeshadow Palette Review August 6, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 12:54 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Yay!!!!! I spent at least two weeks stalking Urban Decay, Ulta, and Sephora since I learned of the release of Urban Decay’s 15 year anniversary eyeshadow palette. These colors were simply craveable.  Finally last week it was available at Sephora. I bought it right away (and got a dr. jart+ beauty balm as a premium sample!).  Yesterday it arrived on my front porch. Yay. So what did I do? Tried to restrain my excitement. After opening the box and getting rid of all of Sephora’s careful packing I came to the case. It is about 6 inches by 6 inches and a gunmetal chrome color. Along the edge is a pretty floral vine design.

After opening the case I was confronted with 15 (get it 15 year anniversary?) full sized shadows of 0.05 oz each which totals 0.75 oz.  All of these are shimmery except for the one matte – blackout. Midnight rodeo and Midnight 15 are both shadows that contain glitter. The remaining 12 are all simple shimmers. To me – and no ones photos do these colors justice including mine – the entire center column is almost irridescent.  In my opinion every color is super wearable except perhaps junkshow.

       

All of the shimmers are silky smooth with tons of pigmentation. They blend nicely. The two midnights are somewhat more sheer as many glitter filled eyeshadows are, but still go on nicely. As you can see from the photos there is little to no fallout. Blackout is black and looks like something Avril Lavigne would wear. It is not as smooth as the shimmers but it is still better than most mattes. It has TONS of coverage, but does blend out well.

On the look I created I used Midnight rodeo as the all over color. I put Omen on my lid then half truth in my crease. Then just for kicks I put a little Evidence on the outside of each lid.  As usual this was all put over a primer. I used my Tarte Emphaseyes black amazonian clay cream liner and my Anastasia lash lifting mascara.

Would I buy this again? In a heartbeat! In my review from yesterday I noted that the L’OREAL shadow was 0.16 oz for $8…that turns out to be $50.00 an ounce (for a mediocre eyeshadow) this is $73.00 an ounce for fantastic eyeshadow – that is a bargain even at the $55.00 retail price for these 15 shadows. Unless you despise shimmers, you should get this set. As of today it is available at Sephora, Ulta, and UrbanDecay.com.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Urban Decay or any store mentioned. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.