Beautiful Lagoon

A site about feeling beautiful

Kat Von D Truth Palette Review July 16, 2011

Filed under: Makup,Review — slagoon @ 7:25 am
Tags: , , , ,

Kat Von D, the famous Tattoo artist, has a contract with Sephora for her own line of makeup which is inspired by her own look.  Each of the different palettes show a beautiful piece of her own art on the front and 8 signature colors within.

Today I was feeling the need to wear something pretty fun so I grabbed my brand new Truth by Kat Von D palette. Check out those colors. It is an interesting palette with half the colors being pretty extreme and the other half very classical.


.

.

.

.

Lets start with the left side, there is a cream color called “Sugar Skull” which reminds me of the color of an old bone. It has a light shimmer. The next is a bright green/gold called “Long Distance” the color is not quite flourescent, but it is fairly bright and has a heavy shimmer.  The third color is called “Snake Eyes” it reminds me of celery; it has a slight shimmer. “Finland” is a cream shadow the color of the ocean over shallow areas – it takes a bit to get used to applying it, but it stays and has great color payoff. It goes on with a metallic shine. Starting the second half of the palette is “Prague” it is a dark eggplant and is a matte. The next is a lavender shimmer called “Galeano”. After that is “Rehab” a color that graces at least one other of her palettes which is a shimmery peach champagne color. The palette finishes off with “Sister” a light peach color that kind of reminds me of ballet shoes. Also part of the palette are a mirror and two double ended brushes. The mirrors in her palette always tend to get a bit hazy looking and must be cleaned more often than most and the brushes are not good for much other than maybe lining – though I do use them on the cream because I don’t have any other cream appropriate tools.

  

Kat’s line is known for their highly pigmented colors that make a statement and this one followed the same trend. The standard pressed powders go on very smooth and provide full coverage. If you want sheer you need to have a VERY light hand. If you want BOLD this is the way to go.  They don’t blend incredibly well but they do allow for layering which helps a lot.

I decided to contrast my hot pink nails (Opi I’m Wired) with the bright greens. I put the “Sugar Skull” all over and extra heavy in my arches. Then I used the “Finland” in my crease (I know typically you put the crease on last, but with this cream I needed to do it first). I put “Long Distance” on my entire lid and added “Snake Eyes to just below the crease and the outside of both lids.  The “Finland” was still a little too bright for me so I put a thin layer of “Rehab” over it.

Since the Kat Von D products are only available at Sephora you can only buy it at Sephora. It is currently only $15.00 (instead of the original $34) which makes me think this will soon be discontinued.  It is an excellent value so if you KINDA like any of the colors – hop to it and buy one.

FTC Disclaimer: Not affiliated with nor compensated by Sephora or Kat Von D. Items purchased by me for my own personal use. For more information please review my disclosure policy.